Sydney Thunder Won the Big Bash League final 2016

Sydney Thunder Won the Big Bash League final 2016. At a jam-packed Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) stadium, the Sydney Thunder convincingly won the Big Bash League 2016 beating Melbourne Stars by 3 wickets. Winning the toss, Sydney decided to bowl first to take advantage of the early swing on the pitch.

Sydney-Thunder won ipl 2016

Captain Mike Hussey was correct to some extent as the fast bowlers gave a good start to the side with Shane Watson dismissing the Melbourne opener Stoinis for 5 run only in the 2nd over of the match.
However, Luke Wright and Kevin Pietersen kept the scoreboard ticking and helped Melbourne reach 50 in quick time. The flamboyant English batsman hit explosive 74 off 39 balls with 4 boundaries and 5 sixes at a strike rate of around 190 before getting caught & bowled out by Chris Green. The rest of the Melbourne batsmen including Captain Dave Hussey (21) got out cheaply but they successfully posted a commanding total of 176/9 on board.

Usman Khawaja 70 (40b, 4s x 5, 6s x 3) and Kallis 28 (27b, 4s x 4) gave a flying start to Sydney Thunder as they added 86-run for the first wicket in just 9.1 overs. Usman was brilliant with the bat and kept hitting big shots all across the ground. The youngster was highly impressive today as he played his natural game at this do or die game without any pressure.

There were some tense moments in the match after the dismissal of Andre Russel as Sydney came down to 146 for 5 but some excellent cricket from Aiden Blizzard 16 (7b, 4s x 2, 6s x 1) towards the end steered Sydney Thunder a magnificent victory. Captain Michael Hussey lifted the trophy along with his team mates after the match.