West Indies are the World T20 Champion 2016

West Indies are the World T20 Champion 2016. The Caribbean team has completely stunned England in a rather scintillating manner on Sunday at the ICC World T20 final in Kolkata with its batsman Carlos Braithwaite hitting 4 consecutive sixes in 4 consecutive deliveries in the last over bowled by Ben Stokes. Chasing a stiff target of 156 in 20 overs at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens, West Indians pulled off a surprise when the team accomplished 19-run-target in the last over with 2 balls to spare.

Earlier in the day, West Indies won the toss and opted to field first. The English team made a bad start losing their opening pair Hales and Roy for cheap scores. But Wicketkeeper batsman Jos Butler played a fine knock of 36 in 22 balls with 1 boundary and 3 sixes before getting caught by Bravo off Braithwaite.

West Indies are the World T20 Champion 2016


England batting mainstay Joe Root stood rock solid at the other end accelerating the pace of the innings smashing a brilliant 54 off 36 balls with 7 hits to the fence. However, he didn’t get that much support from his peers from the other end. Somehow, English team put 155 runs on scoreboard with a hope to defend the same. West Indian bowlers did their task well restricting England to a modest total. Carlos Braithwaite bowled well chipping in 3 for 23 in his 4-over spell.

West Indies are the World T20 Champion 2016


West Indies lose their first wicket Johnson Charles in the very first over for 1. Then explosive Chris Gayle departed for just 4 caught by Stokes off Root. Next man Lendl Simmons also got out for a golden duck off Willey and West Indies were languishing at 11 for 3 in third over. But the experienced Marlon Samuels (85) and Bravo (25) fought back with their 75-run partnership to bring West Indies back to the match.

IPL 2016 :- Book IPL 2016 Tickets Online at Bookmyshow

IPL 2016 :- IPL 2016 Opening Ceremony Live Streaming


Eventually, Samuel’s 85-run knock with 9 fours and 2 sixes in 66 balls slowly took the game out of West Indies though the match stayed alive until the last over. Carlos Braithwaite 34 (10b, 4s x 1, 6s x 1) perfectly finished the match with his 4 towering sixes when the team still needed 19 runs off the last 6 deliveries. Ben Stokes was given the last over to bowl but Braithwaite smashed four successive sixes guiding West Indies to win their second World T20 Trophy. Braithwaite and Samuels added match winning 54-run stand for the 7th wicket.

Brief Scorecard:

England 155/9 (20 Overs): Joe Root 54, Jos Buttler 36; Braithwaite 3/23,

West Indies 161/ 6 (19.4): Marlon Samuels 85, Braithwaite 34; Willey 3/20

Man-of-the-match: Marlon Samuels

Man-of-the-Tournament: Virat Kohli

Toss: West Indies won the toss elected to field first


IPL 2016 :- Download IPL 2016 Schedule PDF Here